With the Fourth of July holiday coming up, many Tennesseeans will be enjoying some time out on the water this weekend.
The Tennessee Legislature has enacted a number of new laws signed by Governor Lee that will take effect on July 1. In particular, one new law, effective July 1, increases the penalties for Boating Under the Influence (BUI) to be consistent with the same penalties as Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
As soon as tomorrow, if you were to be found operating a motorized boat while impaired by alcohol or other drugs, the mandatory minimum penalty under the new Tennessee law includes 48 hours in jail. Additionally, if found to have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of over 0.2%, the minimum mandatory penalty will include 7 days in jail.
Boating Under the Influence in Tennessee will also operate like DUIs in Tennessee, in that with each subsequent conviction, the mandatory minimum penalties increase.
Be safe this holiday weekend, and always have a sober driver, whether it’s by car, truck, golf cart, or boat! Happy Independence Day!